2022 Annual Meeting, New Member Induction and Awards Ceremonies

Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society



The University of Michigan Chapter Virtual (Zoom) Meetings

May 4 and May 11, 2022

May 4, 2022 ANNUAL LECTURE Diana Reiss, Ph.D. Professor of Psychology, City University of New York

"Exploring the Dolphin Mind"



May 11, 2022 Co-Teachers-of-the-Year Alyson Thompson & Casey Warner





PROGRAM

Welcoming Comments

Henry (Gus) Buchtel, Ph.D.

Introduction to Programs

Jack Cederquist, Ph.D.

MAY 4, 2022

Introduction of 2022 Sigma Xi Lecturer

Francine Dolins, Ph.D.

Sigma Xi Annual Lecture

Diane Reiss, Ph.D.

Induction of New Sigma Xi Members

E. Margaret Evans, Ph.D.

and Sigma Xi Pledge for New (and Current) Members

Approval of 2022-2023 Slate of Officers

E. Margaret Evans, Ph.D.

Recognition of 50-year Sigma Xi Members

Apryl Brown, M.D.

May 11, 2022

Science & Math Co-Teachers of the Year Awards - 2022

Peter Woo, Ph.D.

Alyson Thompson, M.Ed. Casey Warner, M.Sc., M.A.

Sigma Xi 2022 Science Fair Winners

Jack Cederquist, Ph.D.

Junior Division

Judy Bai (Clague Middle School, Ann Arbor) *Predicting Candidate Biomarkers for COVID-18 and Leukemia Cancer in Children*

Abhimanyu Kommereddi (South Arbor Charter Academy, Ypsilanti) Mold is not Welcome

Tanay Panja (Clague Middle School, Ann Arbor) Engineering AI-IoT System for Energy Forecasting & Environmental Monitoring

Senior Division

Kira Collins (Pioneer High School, Ann Arbor) Frictional Forte

Anirudh Venkat (Huron High School, Ann Arbor) Exfiltrating Data from an Isolated Computer System

Annabelle Ye (Huron High School, Ann Arbor) Dietary Impact on Memory T Cells

Adjournment

Henry A. Buchtel, Ph.D.

2022 Science/Math Co-Teacher of the Year Awards

Dr. Peter Woo is an organic chemist retired from pharmaceutical research and development at Pfizer Inc. Dr. Woo organizes and coordinates the choice of the Teacher(s) of the Year Awards. This year he will be presenting awards to the following co-winners of the award.

Brief Biographies (full bios attached)

Ms. Alyson Thompson (Washtenaw International High School, Ypsilanti). Ms. Alyson Thompson has two degrees from Eastern Michigan University: B.S. degree in Biology with minors in Chemistry and Psychology (2004) and a Secondary Education Certification (2008). She also has a Master of Education from Marygrove College, Detroit (2015). She has taught in a number of schools in Ypsilanti and Northville. She also taught English in the ZJG Foreign Language School in Zhangjiagang, China (2005-2006). She has been a Classroom teacher, Instructional Coach, and Science Department Head at Washtenaw International High (2011 to present). She emphasizes visible thinking techniques and inquiry-based teaching.

Ms. Casey Warner (Skyline High School, Ann Arbor). Ms. Casey Warner has received three degrees from the University of Michigan: B.S. (1997), M.S. (1999), and M.A. (2002). Her M.S. degree is in oceanography and marine geochemistry; she was awarded a University fellowship and was a recipient of the American Geophysical Award. During this period (1999-2002), she co-authored four publications in scientific journals. Her M.A. in 2002 is in Education with Secondary Teaching Certifications: General Science, Biology, and Earth/Space Science. As a teacher, she has received "Celebration of Excellence" awards in 2007 and 2022, and an "Outstanding Educator" award in 2018. has been a Department Head at Skyline since 2019 and has planned and facilitated professional development of Science Teachers, and has mentored new teachers, among other duties.

NEW MEMBERS & PROMOTIONS - 2022

Full Members (including promotions)

Andrew Ault Bart Bartlett Stephen deBacker Susan Gelman Christopher Monk Brittany Morgan Patricia Reuter-Lorenz Lauren Robinson Melanie Sanford

Associate Members

Valentina Borghesani Ayza Croskey Danielle Fagnani Brandon Klein



The Chapter is grateful for a very generous donation from **Ms. Cathleen Zepelin** to establish a fund in memory of **Dr. Harold Zepelin (photo above)**, a *Sigma Xi* member, who died in 2006. The fund helps maintain the honorary nature of election to membership by paying initiation and membership fees for new members. Finally, donations in support of Chapter activities from **Henry Buchtel, Margaret Evans**, and particularly **Peter Woo** (Science Co-Teachers of the Year funding) are also gratefully acknowledged.

Fifty-Year Members (1972-2022)

The following Chapter members are being honored for 50 years of active membership.

Dr. Trevor N. Mudge was elected to Sigma Xi in 1972 by the University of Indiana Chapter (017), where he received an MS and a Ph.D. in Computer Science. He is now the Bredt Family Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. He is author of numerous papers on computer architecture, programming languages, VLSI design, and computer vision. He has chaired 56 theses in these areas. In 2014 he received the ACM/IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award and the University of Illinois Distinguished Alumni Award. He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the ACM, and a member of the IET and the British Computer Society.

Dr. Henry E. Thomas was elected to Sigma Xi in 1972 by the University of Michigan Chapter (016). Bio not available.

Dr. Alida S. Westman was elected to Sigma Xi in 1972 by the Cornell University Chapter (001). She was born in Austria, grew up in The Hague and attended Washington State University before receiving her Ph.D. from Cornell in 1971. She became a professor at EMU in the Department of Psychology in 1972, teaching courses on sensation and perception, child and adolescent psychology, cognitive psychology, psychology of religion, and death and dying, among other subjects. She was a professor of psychology at EMU from 1972-2012. Dr. Westman retired in 2012.

OFFICERS

	2021-2022	2022-2023 Slate of Officers
President	Henry A. Buchtel	Henry A. Buchtel
Vice-President	Jack Cederquist	Jack Cederquist
Secretary	Cynthia Marcelo	Cynthia Marcelo
Treasurer	E. Margaret Evans	E. Margaret Evans
Council Members	Apryl Brown	Apryl Brown
	Francine Dolins	Francine Dolins
	John Mansfield	Anson Kairys
	Peter Woo	John Mansfield
	Ex Officio	Peter Woo
	Richard Robertson	

Sigma Xi

The Scientific Research Honor Society

Sigma Xi was founded in 1886 by a group of Cornell students and a faculty member who believed the time had come to establish an honor society for scientists and engineers. The purpose of the society was to reward excellence in scientific research as well as to encourage a sense of companionship and cooperation among scientists in all fields. The University of Michigan Chapter was established as the 16th Chapter of Sigma Xi in 1903 when thirty-five faculty and students were granted a charter to establish a Chapter at Michigan. The first President of the local Chapter was Professor J. Playfair McMurrich.

Since 1886, *Sigma Xi* has grown to include more than 800 Chapters throughout the world. The Society now has approximately 90,000 Members and Associate Members. Chapters are found wherever scientific research is undertaken in nations throughout the world, in universities, colleges, industrial research facilities and government laboratories.

Sigma Xi Pledge: "I hereby pledge myself, in accordance with the purposes and objectives of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Honor Society, to encourage original investigations in science, to foster companionship and cooperation among scientists, to maintain honor, integrity and honesty in all scientific activities, and to assume the other continuing responsibilities of membership."