Advancing Academic Women's Presence, Equity and Standing within the Faculty
Career Issues
Researh Issues
Annual Report

The Academic Women's Caucus

Sarah Goddard Power Award


One objective of the Academic Women's Caucus has been to bring attention to the accomplishments of members of the University community who have distinguished themselves through their leadership, scholarship, and sustained service on behalf of women.


Regent Sarah Goddard Power originally suggested that the Caucus present awards to such individuals. In 1984, an Awards Committee was established to select the first recipients of the Academic Women's Caucus Awards. Regent Sarah Power was a particularly strong advocate for women within the University community and had long been committed to the AWC as well as to other groups which espoused the cause of women. Thus, it seemed appropriate that the Academic Women's Caucus Award be renamed to honor Regent Power. In 1988, Regent Philip H. Power graciously consented to allow the Caucus to rename its awards the Academic Women's Caucus Sarah Goddard Power Award. In 1998, President Lee Bollinger enabled the Award to be offered with an accompanying stipend. See list of Power Award Recipients.

Candidates and Nominations

Criteria and Guidelines for Selection

Previous Awardees

Website designed by MC Delgado