A Brief History

           The Dominican Republic is located on the eastern part of the Caribbean island of Hispaniola, and borders Haiti. Its size is comparable to that of Vermont and New Hampshire combined. This country was initially explored by Columbus in 1492 during his first voyage. He named his discovery La Española and the country's capital, Santo Domingo, was later founded in 1496. Dominican Republic's capital is known to be the oldest European settlement in the Western hemisphere.

Timeline of Events:

1492: Columbus explored the Dominican Republic and named it La Española

1795: Spanish ceded the colony to France

1801: Haitian blacks conquered the country

1808: Dominicans revolted and captured Santo Domingo

1809: The first republic was set up

1814: Spanish regained control

1821: Spanish rule overthrown

1822: The colony was reconquered by Haitians

1844: Haitians thrown out and Dominican Republic established, headed by Pedro Santana

1861-1865: Santana made the Dominican Republic a province of Spain

1870: Almost annexed to the U.S, but United States Senate refused to ratify a treaty of annexation

1916-1924: U.S. marines stayed in the country to stabilize any chaos


2004: former president Leonel Fernández elected 44

Other relevant information:
Religion: 95% Roman Catholic
Language: Spanish
Ethnicity/Race: 16% white, 11% black, 73% mixed
Monetary Unit: Dominican Peso
Current President:Leonel Fernández45